Our Board of Directors features many respected leaders from the Alexandria community.

Current Board

Marion Moon

Marion Moon recently retired as owner and President of Convention and Tradeshow Space Specialists. In 2018, she was selected as a Living Legend of Alexandria. Currently, she sits on the boards of Alexandria Fire Foundation, George Washington Legacy Foundation, President of Watermark Condominium Association, and is immediate past president of the Alexandria Sportsman’s Club. She served nine years as a Trustee of Fork Union Military Academy and has raised hundreds of thousands of dollars for nonprofits in Alexandria.

Jeanne G. Jacob, CAE (Ret.)

Jeanne Jacob is a retired foundation executive, teacher, speaker, and author with nearly 50 years experience as a CFRE (Certified Fundraising Executive) and CAE (Certified Association Executive) in the nonprofit sector and higher education. She served 11 years as Executive Director of the Goodwin House Foundation, 12 years as Executive Vice President of the American Society of Civil Engineers Foundation, 8 years as Director of Development at the National Academy of Engineering, 8 years with Youth for Understanding International Student Exchange, and was an Admissions Officer at the University of Chicago and Mount Holyoke College. She was honored by her peers as the Metro Areas' Fundraiser of the Year, and co-authored three editions of the best-selling textbook Fundraising Basics: A Complete Guide. Currently, she serves on the boards of the following Alexandria nonprofits: Friendship Firehouse; Alexandria Sportsman’s Club; Alexandria Fire Foundation; George Washington Legacy Foundation; and the Seminary Ridge Civic Association.

Shawn Eyer, CFRE
Chief Development Officer

Shawn Eyer is deeply involved in cultural issues in the city of Alexandria, with over a decade of experience at the George Washington Masonic National Memorial. He is the Executive Director of the Virginia Trust for Historic Preservation. In addition to these duties, he is the Chair of the city’s Historic Alexandria Resource Commission, and also serves on the board of directors for the Friends of the Carlyle House. He holds a management degree from Harvard University and has been a Certified Fundraising Executive since 2019. An active educator, he is employed by Harvard University as a teaching assistant for graduate courses in management, and is an Advisory Board member for Shenandoah University’s Transformative Leadership Program.

Jennifer Warren

W. Patrick Wilson

Patrick Wilson is a resident of historic Old Town Alexandria and a Veteran representative on the City’s George Washington Birthday Celebration Committee. Formerly a Civil Affairs Officer in the U.S. Army Reserve and an Artillery Officer in the Virginia National Guard, Patrick is presently the Vice President of Government Relations for semiconductor maker MediaTek Inc. Previously he served as a senior appointee at the U.S. Department of Commerce and as a staffer in the U.S. House and Senate. A longtime supporter of the Harry S. Truman Presidential Library and the National Archives Foundation, Patrick is a native of Independence, Missouri.


Ex-Officio Members

In addition to the officers, our Board receives vital input from several ex-officio members:

Tyler Vanice (GWBCC)

Tyler Vanice was the Chair of the City of Alexandria's George Washington Birthday Celebration Committee, Virginia, for four years, two of them chaired with the Foundation's founder Joe Shumard. Tyler and Joe founded this organization to create support in promoting and educating the public about George Washington. He has a deep knowledge of George Washington as he worked at the George Washington Masonic National Memorial for a decade and and is passionate in supporting community events and programs related to George Washington. 

Sue Johnson (GWBCC)

Past Presidents

Joe Shumard, 2018–2020 [learn more]